Board of Directors

East River Legal Services is governed by a Board of Directors, composed of attorneys, client representatives from various organizations, and at large members. Collectively they provide oversight in the provision of legal services. Our Board helps govern Legal Aid through financial review, strategic planning, and continually focusing on the legal needs of our current and potential clients implementing a clear vision for carrying out Legal Aid’s mission.


President - Steve Huff
Johnson, Miner, Marlow Woodward & Huff, Prof. - Yankton
Melissa Fiksdal
Jeff Larson Law - Sioux Falls
Jeff Schultz
Woods Fuller Schultz & Smith - Sioux Falls
Sharon Chontos
Sage Consultants - Sioux Falls
Wendy Hess
USD School of Law - Vermillion
Dan Fritz
Ballard Spahr - Sioux Falls
Timmothy Cummings
Green Roby Oviatt Cummings - Watertown
Sheila Fenderson
Client Member - Sioux Falls
Kimberly Dorsett
Richardson Law Firm - Aberdeen
Jennifer Goldammer
Helsper, McCarty & Rasmussen - Brookings
Ruth Henderson
Client Member - Sioux Falls
LeeAnn No Heart
Client Member - Sioux Falls
Angela Omelas
Client Member - Sioux Falls
Ken Teunissen
Client Member - Sioux Falls